Are ‘frogs on the verge of dying out in parts of Britain due to disease’?

I saw this headline yesterday.

Frogs on verge of dying out in parts of Britain due to disease‘ (in the Telegraph).

I’m not sure yet which parts of Britain we’re talking about. Yesterday I saw Common Frogs in our garden and also in woodland about 2 miles away – so that’s OK then!

According to my colleagues in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation about half of all ponds in the countryside have frogs breeding in them. You can see the latest publicly available data, from 2007, here.

I will report back when I can get hold of a copy of the report the article is based on.

2 Responses to “Are ‘frogs on the verge of dying out in parts of Britain due to disease’?”

  1. Jane Miller Says:

    All my frogs died last winter, and the tadpoles donated by a friend were all gobbled up (I assume) by the fish. But the other night, while scooping up the baby slugs (I do dispose of them humanely) my torch illuminated a perfect frog. No others so far, but I hope this means that they are back.

  2. jonspond Says:

    Now this scare story is spreading to other media outlets
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1318548/Frog-numbers-plummet-80-virus-decimates-adult-population.html

    Notice the mistake in the online article?

Leave a Reply

