What’s in the pond now?

Broad Bodied Chaser and (probably) Southern Hawker larvae from the pond today

Broad Bodied Chaser and (probably) Southern Hawker larvae from the pond today

Nobody has every carefully studied the changing life of a garden pond year round.

So whatever’s in the pond now is going to be interesting.

Today I found:

Dozens of Large Red Damselfly larvae and a surprising number of Broad-bodies Chaser dragonfly larvae, too – big and small. And also the larva of a hawker dragonfly – there are only one or two of these in the pond. This is probably a southern hawker.

There were hundreds of tiny Whirlpool Ram’s-horn snails, but I couldn’t find any of my usual Dwarf Pond Snails today.

Pond Olive mayflies are still numerous but not in the huge abundance I have sometimes seen them.

I’ve got quite a few backswimmers – all seem to be spotted backswimmers – but no lesser water boatmen at all.

I’ve seen five different kinds of water beetles today, which is actually not such a great variety: 10 to 15 species would be a more normal haul. But there are lots of developing larvae which will probably become adults in the spring.

I was a little surprised to see no caddis flies: it may be that there are eggs still to hatch.

There were a few pond skaters, though with the lush growths of mosses there is less open water for them than there has been.

Today: one I my little frogs in the tray with a Broad Bodied Chaser larva (a terrible photo, I know, but I liked the difference in size)

Today: one I my little frogs in the tray with a Broad Bodied Chaser larva (a terrible photo, I know, but I liked the difference in size)

And frogs: I’ve got all stages still. Tadpoles with no legs, tadpoles with back legs, froglets with four legs that have not yet absorbed their tails, baby frogs recently emerged and the young of this year now growing up.

Today’s Big Pond Dip score is 42, 10 down on earlier in the year – the difference was becuase I didn’t find caddis flies.

One Response to “What’s in the pond now?”

  1. Gardenpond Magazine » What’s in the pond now? Says:

    […] more: What’s in the pond now? Share this on del.icio.usDigg this!Post this on DiigoShare this on RedditBuzz up!Stumble upon […]

Leave a Reply

