Return of the triffid?

This bulrush colonised my pond naturally; it's growing in about 3 inches of water

This bulrush colonised my pond naturally; it's growing in about 3 inches of water

My bulrush is coming to life now. It’s the only example I know so far of a garden pond naturally colonised by a wild wetland plant.

It has made a rhizome, and put up a second shoot (there’s a third underwater, out of view).

Bulrush is not a very popular plant and its easy to forget its good points.

I’m hoping it will attract egg-laying alderflies and visting reed beetles, as well as adding underwater habitat structure in the pond, and providing a launch pad for departing backswimmers.

I don’t think I’ll be able to grow enough to attract Moorhens!

Leave a Reply

