More spawn

There was new clump of frog spawn this morning (its the smaller, less sowllen, blob below).

A new clump of spawn laid this morning

A new clump of spawn laid this morning (top left)

So spawning has been going on now for 2 weeks – my first clump was on March 4th.

Already the earlier eggs are now well developed little taddies – but oh dear – cold weather is coming.

3 Responses to “More spawn”

  1. Words Says:

    Ours came a week or so later than that, but the newts are enjoying themselves with it. http://my.opera.com/Words/blog/2009/03/18/newt-watch

  2. Fuchsia Perfect Says:

    I noticed the first frogspawn in my 18-month-old pond today, but it’s getting very cold here in the South Pennines. I hope some of the eggs survive. I haven’t had my own tadpoles since I was about 10.

Leave a Reply

