Is barley straw just a load of old bales?

I have to say, I've never seen a place where straw has made much difference

Goodness gracious, great bales of straw

Lots of people swear by barley straw for controlling algae in their ponds.

A few people (me included) mostly swear at it.

There’s some evidence it works, and at least as much it doesn’t.

Personally I’ve never seen a pond where it made any real difference. There’s what seems to me a pretty typical barley straw treated garden pond below.

Typical effect of barley straw on a garden pond

Typical effect of barley straw on a garden pond (none!)

The real solution is to make sure you’ve got clean water – then you won’t need to add straw, or anything else.

I’m not expecting to need it any time soon in my pond.

PS Very interested to hear any reports that contradict this – really!

Tags:

One Response to “Is barley straw just a load of old bales?”

  1. Steve Says:

    Hi there, I cleaned our garden pond about 2 months ago and when I’d finished the water was beautifully clear. Now? The water’s green and covered in algae and blanket weed! Cleaning the water only does so much. I still think you need to maintain the pond and control levels of algae etc with something like blanket weed, or maybe a UV filter. Really, don’t expect a clear pond if all you do is clean the water….unless you clean it every 4 weeks!

Leave a Reply

