Send me your pictures and questions

Send me your questions

Send me your questions

Don’t forget you can send me your pond questions. I’m always interested to hear about problems or about your wildlife observations because there’s so much to learn, and so much still to find out.

And pics are good – especially if I can share them with other readers.

So if you want to know….

Help……how do I get started? I’ve never made a pond before.

How big should the pond be?

What’s the best shape?

Do I need a liner?

What use are oxygenators (do they even exist!)

What can I do to protect threatened amphibians?

How do I keep the water clean?

What kind of wildlife will my pond help?

Should I dredge out leaves and mud?

Do I need to know the pH of my water?

What is this animal/plant/unidentifiable object?

Should I plant up the pond?

If you want to know about any of these – do feel free to use the comments box.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Send me your pictures and questions”

  1. kath Says:

    I have a photo of something tiny and green flower shaped head that is in our pond and the surrounding paving. Im not sure what it is and where it is originating from! Any help gratefully received. I’ve got a photo, but not sure how to post it?!?

  2. Tom Lord Says:

    Hi Jeremy,

    Great blog!

    My young pond in Streatham appears to be crawling with swimming Mayfly larvae – literally hundreds of them, in a reasonably small pond, about 6ft x 2ft x 1.5ft at it’s deepest. I don’t know a great deal about these little critters and wondered if you could tell me more about them? E.g are they an indicator of good water quality? Is quantity an indicator of an imbalance in predator prey numbers – two smooth newts just can’t keep up?! Are they a common feature of inner city ponds?

    I’m not in the business of ‘doing’ anything about it more than happy for nature to take its course, just wanted some more information.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

