Building my new wildlife garden pond: design

Single basin or multi-basin? I prefer the latter

Single basin or multi-basin? I prefer the latter

Time to get on with making the new pond.

First thing: the design – I’m going to make a multi-basin pond (the same as my first pond).

The rough sketch shows what I’m aiming for.

This means you have three or four basins inside the pond outline which are different depths. In winter, or wet weather, all the basins join together to make a single waterbody.

As the pond drops naturally during dry weather the different basins dry out at different speed – so if the design works, I should have a temporary pond, a semi-permanent pond and a permanent pond all as part of the same waterbody.

And this is the best way to maximise the variety of habitats inside a pond because pond plants and animals are more affected by how permanent the water is, than how deep it is – and surprisingly many water plants and animals need a period of occasional drought.

That’s the theory – actually my first pond hasn’t dropped more than a couple of inches yet because the weather has been so wet over the last 18 months since I built it – but it will do eventually, if we ever get any drier weather!

Tags:

One Response to “Building my new wildlife garden pond: design”

  1. Garden Pond Design Review | Garden Pond Design Says:

    […] Building my new wildlife garden pond: design – Single basin or multi-basin? I prefer the latter. Single basin or multi-basin? I prefer the latter. Time to get on with making the new pond. First thing: the design – I’m going to make a multi-basin pond (the same as my first pond). … […]

Leave a Reply

